When in a foreign country I’m always slightly baffled by the road signs and networks. You’ll often see strange signs you don’t understand and maybe even some that are slightly amusing. However I’ve started noticing more and more while driving round the UK that some signs are really quite strange, and quite funny because of it. I thought I’d have a look round the web and I have to say, I’ve found some real gems. The following are some of the most ludicrous road signs I think I’ve ever seen.

Secret Nuclear Bunker

Secret Nuclear Bunker

Secret nuclear bunker to the right! Or is that what they want you to think? In fact if I was trying to find a secret nuclear bunker I’d be tempted to go the other way, after all, it’s not a secret if there’s a huge sign pointing to it is there?

Lane closed

Lane closed

Closing a lane and forcing everyone into the same lane doesn’t really ease congestion does it?

Sign not in use

Sign not in use

This sign creates a bit of a paradox. By saying it isn’t in use it is in fact being used, but is inaccurate. A little bit confusing and completely pointless.

Emergency only 174km away

Emergency only 174km away

No worries if you crash then.

SOTP!

SOTP!

If I saw this I think I’d just deliberately drive on without stopping. Really, how can someone misspell a fuor letter wrod?

Sharp edges, just so you know

Sharp edges, just so you know

Of course, if the sign didn’t exist there would be no sharp edge to touch and so there wouldn’t need to be a sign warning me of the sharp edges on the sign. Another one of those signs that exists to tell you about itself but quite amusing all the same.

Sidewalk ends

Sidewalk ends

So I see.

One way?

One way?

Well, it’s a 50/50 chance. Anyones guess as to which way ‘the way’ is here.

These are just some of my favourites, but there’s literally hundreds out there. Let me know if I’ve missed any really classic ones.

