As the summer rolls around again (very slowly in the UK’s case) we all start thinking about migrating to a warmer climate (as soon as physically possible in the UK’s case!). This year will be no different, despite the dreaded credit crunch and tight purse strings, we are all looking to forget our troubles for a week or two. 

Don’t get me wrong I do love the British summer, lazy days spent BBQ-ing in the sun, picnics with wasps, good old pub gardens and knobbly knees by the seaside –  but there is nothing like 2 weeks away in guaranteed sunshine with cheap cocktails. 

This year however I’m going to see though our “summer” and head off on my hols this September. I want to try and enjoy all of the British summer, I have my tickets to a festival, already planned trips to the seaside, picked out some pubs with sunny gardens and brought a BBQ which is just aching to be cooked on. I thought to myself, why not enjoy the best of both worlds this year?

Living in Kent (The Garden of England -as they say) the place really comes alive with the first spec of sunshine, the fields look greener, rivers cleaner and the air fresh with the scent of nature. I really don’t know why people don’t enjoy the more pleasurable months of our year in our country. Yes the weather may turn bad in the blink of an eye, but what would Wimbledon be without a forest of umbrellas and a drop of rain hitting the BBQ as soon as it is lit. It’s these silly things that make me love this country, the way the press are quick to make a story out of “the hottest day this year” or print pictures of people covered head to toe in mud during festival season. 

The summer is something we all love to talk about, whether it’s moaning about the weather, celebrating an event or (coming back to my original point) looking forward to a holiday abroad. Although I am very much looking forward to the prospect of jetting off to another country this September, I can’t help but look out the window today into pure sunshine and wish the working week away until I can get out and enjoy the Great British summer. 

 

