Here is a depressing thought for those of you still looking for a holiday idea. The summer is nearly over. Yes, it only seems to have just started but in a month or two the leaves will be turning a familiar shade of orange, the temperature will start to drop and we’ll be seeing less and less of the sun.

Unlike many people the summer isn’t actually my favourite season. As you may have guessed from my previous blog entries I’d much rather go somewhere arctic, or go exploring mountains than lie on a hot beach somewhere. Autumn is one of my favourite times of the year, and one that I feel is definitely overlooked for holidays.

If you go on holiday in the Autumn you’ll be able to dodge the high summer prices and all the other travellers, along with being able to see some places in their peak of natural beauty. I was having a browse through the web for some holiday destinations for the Autumn for myself and I thought I’d share the one I thought looked most interesting.

If you ever want to visit the USA then I would go to New England in Autumn. September and October are the best times and it is a really beautiful time of year. You’ll get to see the rural side of America and experience some of the hospitality that they pride themselves on. There are plenty of touring holidays you can book that’ll take you to all the main sights of the region in Boston, Massacheusetts, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, Conneticut and more.

The region lends itself really well to active outdoor activities, which is certainly something you’ll want to be doing in the pleasant Autumn air. With rock climbing, swimming, running, walking and sightseeing tours on offer there is always something to do. Stowe in Vermont is even home to the first ski area in the East of the country and is a great place for biking, golf and hiking as well.

New England is a great idea for couples and families alike with many warm and friendly hotels and B&Bs. The Americans pride themselves on their hospitality and it somewhere I would definitely recommend over just lying on a beach towel for two weeks.

